Skip to content

About Us 


About School Sport Victoria

School Sport Victoria (SSV) is the peak body for School Sport in Victoria. SSV is a sub-committee of the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development.

School Sport Victoria is a merge of the Victorian Primary Schools' Sports Association and the Victorian Secondary Schools' Sports Association that occurred during 2009 and was established January 1, 2010. The two member associations have steered a school sport program for over 2,300 schools, all Victorian primary schools, government and non-government and all Victorian government secondary schools. These two associations existed for over 100 years providing an ongoing interschool sport program for Victorian students.

Return to top


School Sport Victoria will actively promote school sport for all Victorian school students as a means of supporting schools programs in developing their students' health and wellbeing. School Sport Victoria will do this by:

  • providing strategic leadership for Victorian School Sport;
  • providing regular sporting competition that embraces an educational approach in developing students’ appreciation and carriage of respected community values;
  • advocating recognition for School Sport leadership at all levels;
  • maximising participation opportunities for all school students in competition that is commensurate with their age and ability;
  • promoting school and community partnerships through sport; and
  • governing SSV to promote the efficient and effective administration of School Sport.

Return to top

Mission Statement

To be the State and National leader in providing quality sporting opportunities in the school environment for all school age children in Victoria.

Return to top

Operating Procedures

Please click here to view School Sport Victoria's Operating Procedures.

Return to top

The Sports We Play

School Sport Victoria organises interschool competitions in nineteen core sports, being

  • Australian Football
  • Badminton (Secondary only)
  • Baseball (Secondary only)
  • Basketball
  • Bowls (Secondary only)
  • Cricket
  • Cross Country
  • Diving (Secondary only)
  • Football (Soccer)
  • Golf
  • Hockey
  • Netball
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Table Tennis
  • Tee Ball (Primary only)
  • Tennis
  • Track and Field
  • Volleyball

Competitions are generally held for Primary Boys / Mixed, Primary Girls, Year 7 Boys, Year 7 Girls, Year 8 Boys, Year 8 Girls, Intermediate Boys (Years 9 and 10), Intermediate Girls (Years 9 and 10), Senior Boys (Years 11 and 12) and Senior Girls (Years 11 and 12). There can be slight variations in the age groups in Secondary competition due to the number of students participating.

SSV also recognises a number of other sports with competitions organised by the State Sporting Associations, including

  • Cycling
  • Gymnastics
  • Orienteering
  • Rowing
  • Rugby League
  • Squash
  • Surfing
  • Touch
  • Triathlon

In January 2014, SSV introduced its Sporting Tiers Policy. From this date, SSV will regularly review each sport’s classification with particular reference to their relevance in the school setting with regards to:

  • the development and changes in participation rates of a number of sports over time;
  • SSV's strengthened relationships with SSO’s; and
  • SSV’s limited capacity to offer school sports programs for all sports where it is expected they receive equivalent support, funding and are organized by SSV staff and teachers in schools.

SSV will reclassify sports within its program into a tiered sports classification system where sports will be defined into three (3) different levels of support within the SSV Program. A full description of the policy may be viewed on the SSV website at:

SSV also participates in School Sport Australia Annual Championships for elite level athletes.  A full list of sports is available by clicking here.

Return to top

Competition Boundaries

From 2011 schools will use DEECD regions and networks as the base structure for competition boundaries.  To view the current competition groupings, see:

To view the SSV sports regions, see: SSV Sports Region Map

To view current Region, Division and District Coordinator appointments see: SSV Coordinator List.

Return to top

Competition Pathways and Progressions

To view SSV's updated 2012 policy on competition pathways and progressions see:

To view the Interschool Sport Progression Pathways DL Flyer see:

Return to top

Membership Types

The ordinary membership of SSV consists of each of the classes listed below.  Only Full and Associate member schools compete in interschool competitions organised by SSV. 

Students attending schools that are affiliated with SSV for the current year are eligible to trial and participate in SSV interstate representative teams.

Full Members

Qualifications: Any Government School

Associate Members

Qualifications: Any Non-Government Primary School or Non-Government Secondary School which:

(A) does not participate in a regular school sport competition for students in year levels 7 to 12 conducted by another secondary school sport organisation; and

(B) is approved for admission to a Division as an Associate Member in accordance with the criteria prescribed by the SSV Board.

Affiliate Members

Qualifications: Any Non-Government Secondary School that participates in a regular school sport competition for students in year levels 7 to 12 conducted by another secondary school sport organisation.

Return to top

SSV Board

President: Rob Carroll (Maribyrnong Secondary College)
Vice President: Steve Rothwell (Chatham Primary School)
Chief Executive Officer: Jude Maguire
DEECD Representative: Chris Thompson
Board Members:
Jan Arney (Apollo Parkways Primary School)
Sarah Burns (Mornington Secondary College)
Ernie Fleming (Bendigo South East Secondary College)
Jannelle Graham (Berwick Secondary College)
David Mann (Park Ridge Primary School)
Stephen McKerrow (California Gully Primary School)
Alan McLean (Independent)
Heather Sarau (Wangaratta High School)
Stephen Smith (Sunbury Secondary College)
Fiona Taylor (Matthew Flinders Girls Secondary College)
Shane Wainwright (Drouin Secondary College)
Sally Anne Wilson (Mackellar Primary School)
Peter Wright (Koonung Secondary College)

Return to top

SSV Life Members and Service Award Recipients

Please click here to view a list of SSV Life Members and Service Award Recipients.

Return to top

16/04/14 11:46 PM

Created on: May 31, 2011

Last modified: February 25, 2014